Past Shows & Events

Get Lucky 2017: SooVAC’s Annual Fundraising Gala

show image Show Runs: Saturday January 28th, 2017 7pm-11pm

Saturday January 28th, 2017 7pm-11pm

Soo Visual Arts Center
Saturday January 28th, 2017 7-11PM
SooVAC Members: $50 Advanced Tickets: $60 Tickets at the Door: $65
Tickets are available below, call 612-871-2263 or stop in at SooVAC





This year, we’ll be using BidPal, an online bidding application that you can access from your smart phone or computer. BidPal is the leading provider of silent auction bidding software, with a proven track record both locally and nationally.

To ensure a great experience at Get Lucky, we highly recommend you take the following steps in advance of the event:

  • Register for our BidPal auction by clicking this link, then clicking on the "Register" button in the upper right section of the screen.

*Please note that you’ll be asked to register a credit card on BidPal’s secure site. While not required, this will vastly improve your end-of-evening check out experience. This feature makes check out automatic, and you won’t even need to be present to purchase your winnings.

  • Learn more about BidPal (optional), by clicking this link and watching the short video towards the bottom of the page

Upon check in at Get Lucky, you will receive a text with a link to the BidPal auction site, which will allow you to bid on artwork from your smart phone.

Please be sure to bring your fully charged smart phone to the event. There will be a charging station available for those who need to top off their batteries, and a limited number of mobile devices for those without a smart phone. Staff and volunteers will be available throughout Get Lucky to help if you have any questions or concerns.

If you cannot attend Get Lucky please consider making a donation to SooVAC online or by check to:

Soo Visual Arts Center
2909 Bryant Avenue South, Suite 101
Minneapolis, MN 55408

GET LUCKY 2017_Soo Visual Arts Center’s Annual Gala

Tasty Treats and Beverages provided by: Bad Weather Brewing Company, Bryant Lake Bowl, Canteen 3255, Chowgirls Killer Catering, Common Roots, Fulton Beer, Kyatchi,Tattersall Distilling and more

Music by Lori Barbero and Sarah White

ART BY: Alyssa Baguss, Mary Bergs, Ute Bertog, Anna Biedenbender, Amelia Biewald, Rachel Breen, Andrea Carlson, Jaron Childs, Tara Costello, Jennifer Davis, Jim Denomie, John Diebel, Pete Driessen, Aaron Dysart, Clea Felien, Toni Gallo,Ruthann Godollei, Greg Gossel, Samuel Hanson Willis, Christopher Harrison, Pao Her, Alison Hiltner, Joshua Huyser, Kate Iverson, Brett Kallusky, Shana Kaplow, Keren Kroul, John Largaespada, Chris Larson, David Lefkowitz, Curt LeMieux, Rob McBroom, Paula McCartney, Shelly Mosman, Wil Natzel, Kelly O'Brien, Britt Omann, Terrence Payne, Kayla Plosz, David Rathman, Amy Rice, Erika Ritzel, Elaine Rutherford, Joe Sinness, Lindsay Smith, David Sollie, Bruce Tapola, Lex Thompson, Megan Vossler, Caitlin Warner and Michon Weeks

GET LUCKY SPONSORS: 36LYN Refuel Station, Bryant Lake Bowl, CITIES Market Studios, Chowgirls Killer Catering, Color Space Art and Imaging, KNOCK, Inc., Print Craft, Bad Weather Brewing, Fulton Beer, Canteen 3255, Common Roots, Kyatchi, Mitrebox Framing Studio, hairpolice,, Nightingale and Tattersall Distilling

HOST COMMITTEE: Mark Addicks and Tom Hoch, Grant Amadio and Dooglas Moran, Eylon and Mary Grimstad Benari, Melissa and Steve Helland, Masami Kawazato and Aaron Merrill, Dr. Herman J. Milligan Jr., John Ollman, Karin Phillips, and Cherie Shoquist

Join us for Saturday January 28th, 2017 from 7 to 11pm for Get Lucky, our annual fundraising gala. Celebrate and support our year-round exhibition programming with amazing art, people, food and drink. And new this year: complimentary valet parking and mobile bidding.

Below is a preview of bit of the art that will be in our silent auction. More coming soon...

Click below images to view slideshow or view all images on a single page.

Alyssa Baguss Mary Bergs Ute Bertog Anna Biedender Andrea Carlson Jaron Childs Jennifer Davis Jim Denomie John Diebel Pete Driessen Clea Felien Toni Gallo Ruthann Godollei Greg Gossel Samuel Hanson Willis Christopher Harrison Pao Her Joshua Huyser Brett Kallusky Shana Kaplow Keren Kroul Chris Larson David Lefkowitz Rob McBroom Paula McCartney Shelly Mosman Kelly O'Brien Britt Omann Terrence Payne David Rathman Amy Rice Erika Ritzel Lindsay Smith Lex Thompson Megan Vossler Michon Weeks Joe Sinness