Past Shows & Events

Get Lucky 2018: SooVAC’s Annual Fundraising Gala

show image

Opening Reception: Saturday January 20th, 2018 7pm-11pm
Show Runs: Saturday January 20th, 2018 7pm-11pm

Join us for for Get Lucky, our annual fundraising gala, at Soo Visual Arts Center, Saturday January 20th, 2018 from 7 to 11pm. Celebrate and support our year-round exhibition programming with amazing art, people, food and drink.

Tasty Treats and Beverages provided by: Black Forest Inn, Bryant Lake Bowl, Canteen 3255, Chowgirls Killer Catering, Fulton Beer, Nighthawks Diner, Tattersall Distilling and more

Music by DJ Mickey Breeze

SooVAC Members Only Ticket: $50
Advanced Tickets General Admission: $60
Tickets at the Door Night of the Event: $65


ART BY: Alyssa Baguss, Erik Benson, Anna Biedenbender, Amelia Biewald, Rachel Breen, Andrea Carlson, Jaron Childs, Jay Coogan, Tara Costello, Jennifer Davis, Pete Driessen, Aaron Dysart, Christi Furnas, Toni Gallo, Mary Gibney, Ruthann Godollei, Greg Gossel, Lindsy Halleckson, Christopher Harrison, Pao Her, Sophia Heymans, Alison Hiltner, Syed Hosain, Joshua Huyser, Kate Iverson, Brett Kallusky, Allegra Lockstadt, Rollin Marquette and Shannen McElree, Rob McBroom, Paula McCartney and Melanie Pankau, Shawn McNulty, Shelly Mosman, Britt Omann, Terrence Payne, Alex M Petersen, David Rathman, Amy Rice, Erika Ritzel, Gregory Rose, Christopher Selleck, Joe Sinness, David Sollie, Michael Sweere, Carolyn Swiszcz, Liza Sylvestre, Megan Vossler, Margaret Wall-Romana, Michon Weeks, and Russ White

Tickets are available above or call 612-871-2263 or stop in at SooVAC

We will be using BidPal, an online bidding application that you can access from your smart phone or computer. BidPal is the leading provider of silent auction bidding software, with a proven track record both locally and nationally.

It’s highly recommended that you take the following steps in advance of the event to ensure you are all set the night of the event:

  • Register for our BidPal auction by clicking this LINK, then clicking on the "Sign In" button in the upper right section of the screen.
  • Please note that you’ll be asked to register a credit card on BidPal’s secure site. While not required, this will vastly improve your end-of-evening check out experience. This feature makes check out automatic, and you won’t even need to be present to purchase your winnings. 
  • Learn more about BidPal (optional), by clicking this LINK and watching the short video towards the bottom of the page

Upon check in at Get Lucky, you will receive a text with a link to the BidPal auction site, which will allow you to bid on artwork from your smart phone.

Please be sure to bring your fully charged smart phone to the event. There will be a charging station available for those who need to top off their batteries, and a limited number of mobile devices for those without a smart phone. Staff and volunteers will be available throughout Get Lucky to help if you have any questions or concerns.

If you cannot attend Get Lucky please consider making a donation to SooVAC online or by check to:
Soo Visual Arts Center-
2909 Bryant Avenue South, Suite 101
 Minneapolis, MN 55408

GET LUCKY SPONSORS: 36Lyn, Black Forest Inn, Bryant Lake Bowl, Canteen 3255, CITIES Market Studios, Chowgirls Killer Catering, Color Space Art and Imaging, Fulton Beer, hairpolice, Mitrebox Framing Studio, Nighthawks Diner, Nightingale, KNOCK, Inc., Print Craft, and Tattersall Distilling

HOST COMMITTEE: Mark Addicks and Tom Hoch, Melissa and Steve Helland, Chris Larson and Kriss Zulkosky, Masami Kawazato and Aaron Merrill, Dr. Herman J. Milligan Jr., John Ollmann, and Karin Phillips

Below is a sneak peek at some of the art available at the silent auction this year...

Click below images to view slideshow or view all images on a single page.

Alyssa Baguss Anna Biedenbender Amelia Biewald Andrea Carlson Jaron Childs Aaron Dysart Christi Furnas Christopher Harrison Sophia Heymans Rob McBroom Rollin Marquette and Shannen McElree Shawn McNulty Britt Omann Terrence Payne David Rathman Amy Rice Gregory Rose Carolyn Swiszcz Margaret Wall-Romana Michon Weeks Russ White Toni Gallo