Past Shows & Events

Untitled 9: SooVAC’s 9th Annual Juried Exhibition

show image

Opening Reception: Sat., November 10, 2012- 6pm-9pm
Show Runs: November 10 - December 30, 2012

UNTITLED 9 SooVAC’s 9th Annual Juried Show JUROR: Chris Larson-Internationally Recognized Artist and Assistant Professor at the University of Minnesota.

SooVAC is pleased to announce the following artists have been chosen for this year's exhibition:

Timothy Barnes, Mary Bergs, Rachel Breen, Sean Connaughty, Jesse Draxler, Monica Howell, Joseph Kaercher, Leslie Kelman, Haley Prochnow, Sara Wichterman, Matthew Winkler, Noel Worden and Matthew Yaeger.

Through a quiet sense of natural wonder, 13 artists noiselessly manipulate, cut, dissect, blur and disintegrate architecture, bodies and the landscape. Murmuring. –Chris Larson

Untitled 9 will mark the ninth year of SooVAC’s juried exhibition series. Untitled provides opportunities for artists working in any medium and at any stage of their career, resulting in a collection of both varied perspectives and provocative work. This year includes a little bit of everything from a hidden space for human activity and subsistence behind the gallery walls to amateur film footage of mysterious beings covered in glitter and fake blood. Constructed spaces found only in the imagination and new perspectives into landscapes seen but never fully digested unite these artists in a survey of wit and thoughtful reflection.

Local artist and Assistant Professor at the University of Minnesota, Chris Larson, was the juror for Untitled 9 this year. Larson is an internationally accomplished artist and has received numerous honors including two Bush Artist Fellowships, Louis Comfort Tiffany Foundation Fellowship and two McKnight Artist Fellowships.

This activity is made possible by the voters of Minnesota through a grant from the Metropolitan Regional Arts Council, thanks to a legislative appropriation from the arts and cultural heritage fund.


A special thanks to our event sponsor Pabst Blue Ribbon!

Click below images to view slideshow or view all images on a single page.

Timothy Barnes Mary Bergs Rachel Breen Sean Connaughty Jesse Draxler Monica Howell Joseph Kaercher Joseph Kaercher Leslie Kelman Matthew Yaeger and Noel Worden Matthew Yaeger Noel Worden Haley Prochnow Sara Wichterman Matthew Winkler Sean Connaughty Joseph Kaercher, Matthew Winkler and Rachel Breen Jesse Draxler Haley Prochnow Haley Prochnow Matthew Winkler Leslie Kelman Leslie Kelman Leslie Kelman Leslie Kelman