top of page

EKPHRASTIC 2.0: Zine Launch Thursday June 28th – 6-9 PM

Updated: Oct 9, 2019

Join us for the EKPHRASTIC 2.0 zine launch that documents the second iteration of an experiment in collaborative multi-panel storytelling, facilitated by artist Megan Vossler. Over the course of five weeks in summer 2017, thirty-eight participating artists stopped by SooVAC to draw onsite, contributing to an ever growing narrative in drawing form.

EKPHRASTIC 2.0 Contributing Artists: Kelly Abeln, Jaime Anderson, Kai Arnone, Alyssa Baguss, Taylor Baldry, Erik Benson, Michael Carina, Melissa Cooke, Jennifer Davis, Jim Denomie, Andy DuCett, Julia Eshaghpour , Christi Furnas, Ruthann Godollei, Paige Guggemos, Christopher Harrison, Sherry Muyuan He, Sophia Heymans, Sophia Hill, Larassa Kabel, Kathranne Knight, Ann E. Lawton, David Lefkowitz, Erik Lervold, Niky Motekallem, Terrence Payne, Alex M. Petersen, Rachel Poli, Jenny Schmid, Caitlin Skaalrud, Alanna Stapleton, Andy Sturdevant, Tessa Sutton, Carolyn Swiszcz, Jade Townsend, Haruna Ujo, Megan Vossler, and Chris Willcox

The zine also features the poems and short stories of writers James Cihlar, Anna George Meek, Michael Kleber-Diggs, William Reichard, and Elizabeth Tannen. They visited the completed drawing and created short narrative responses -- hence, the title EKPHRASTIC. (Ekphrasis = Greek term for the interpretation, description, or amplification of an existing artwork in one medium, by using another medium. For example, a drawing of a story, or a story about a drawing.)

The writers will read their response during the launch party at 7pm.

And stay tuned- Ekphrastic 3.0 begins July 11!

This project was supported in part by an award from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Detail of cover image by Sherry Muyuan He

41 views0 comments


bottom of page