top of page
horizontal big bar-04

Untitled 16: SooVAC’s 16th Juried Exhibition

Opening Reception: Saturday, February 15, 2020 6pm – 9pm

Show Runs: February 15 - March 12, 2020














Untitled 16 Selected Artists: Amelia Biewald, Maddy Bradley, Justine Di Fiore, Jacob Docksey, Jon Duff, Trina Fernandez, Ian Hanesworth, Nancy Julia Hicks, Lachlan Hinwood, Gudrun Lock, Melissa Loop, Max McInnis, Garry Noland, Andrea Petrini, Emmett Ramstad, Lindsay Rhyner, Nina Martine Robinson, Laura Stack, Mic Stowell, Erika Terwilliger, Brooks Turner, John Vitale, Whitney Weir, Laura Wennstrom, and Alejandro (Junyao) Zhang.

There will be a performance by Alejandro (Junyao) Zhang the night of the opening reception.

Untitled 16 marks the sixteenth year of SooVAC’s flagship juried exhibition series. Untitled provides opportunities for artists working in any medium and at any stage of their career, resulting in a survey of varied perspectives and provocative work.

These artists were selected from 172 submissions by our juror, Natalie Bell. Thank you to all of the artists that submitted and to Natalie! “The artists presented here create works that range in media, process, and scale, but all of them build from their own daily experiences, whether by repurposing of found objects and quotidian materials, or by offering a new way of looking at a shared social history or media culture. Craft is central for a number of artists as well, and many works take up traditions of weaving, embroidery, ceramics, or printmaking, while others engage photography, video, or performance, emphasizing the place of images and the body in our visual culture and experience. While each artist's vision and process differs, across the exhibition, careful studies of material, color, and form intermingle with free expression, criticism, and humor alike, offering a polyphony of ideas and sentiments. ” –Natalie Bell


Natalie Bell is Curator at MIT List Visual Arts Center. Recently she served as Associate Curator at the New Museum, New York, where she curated and co-curated solo exhibitions by Mariana Castillo Deball (2019), Rodrigo Valenzuela (2019), Lubaina Himid (2019), Hiwa K (2018), Anna Boghiguian (2018), Jonathas de Andrade (2017), Elaine Cameron-Weir (2017), Kahlil Joseph (2017), Albert Oehlen (2015), Barbara Rossi (2015), Anri Sala (2016), Andra Ursuta (2016), and Lynette Yiadom-Boakye (2017). She has also co-curated several major group exhibitions, including The Warmth of Other Suns (2019); Trigger: Gender as a Tool and a Weapon (2017); The Keeper (2016), and Here and Elsewhere (2014).

Tell others about this show.

Next Exhibition

bottom of page